View @aascu on your browser


Read about AASCU's continued leadership in public higher education. Download pdf

Read the latest advisories and commentaries in the Policy and Advocacy section of at



University of North Georgia
The University of North Georgia (UNG) and the Oconee Cultural Arts Foundation (OCAF) recently opened new art facilities at the Oconee Culture Arts Foundation complex, marking a continuation of the partnership between UNG and Oconee County's vibrant arts community. Read more



Grants and Gifts

California State University, Fresno
A $1 million dollar gift to California State University, Fresno from an anonymous donor will address the growing need to train Central California educators to work with deaf and hard of hearing students who also have other special needs. The gift will go toward the endowment of Scarlett’s Park, a program within Fresno State’s Silent Garden. The Silent Garden program was founded in 2008 by Dr. Paul W. Ogden, deaf studies professor emeritus, to foster opportunity, understanding and awareness for the deaf and hard of hearing community. Read more

Eastern Illinois University
The Tarble Foundation has given $3 million to further expansion/renovation of the Tarble Arts Center. More than a third of the gift will be used in support of the proposed Tarble Arts Education and Outreach Expansion/Enhancement project. An additional $800,000 establishes an endowed fund that will provide salary and support resources to help administer a new classroom and collections laboratory. The remaining $1 million was given to insure sustained leadership for the Tarble Arts Center by establishing an endowed directorship. Read more

Millersville University of Pennsylvania
Buruli Ulcer is a debilitating, flesh-eating disease and one of 17 neglected tropical diseases (NTD) that the World Health Organization (WHO) hopes to eradicate by 2020. Millersville professor John Wallace is doing his part to achieve that goal with the help of a grant he received from the End Buruli Ulcer Alliance (EBUA). Read more

University of West Florida
Four students at the University of West Florida were selected to join the Maximizing Access to Research Careers, or MARC, Scholars Program. The new program was recently funded as part of a multi-year National Institutes of Health grant totaling more than $960,000. The MARC Undergraduate Student Training in Academic Research grant, awarded to Karen Molek, assistant professor and director of Chemistry Scholars Program at UWF and Michael Huggins, professor and dean of the College of Science, Engineering and Health, in 2014, provides support for underrepresented undergraduate students pursuing PhD or MD/PhD degrees in the biomedical or behavioral sciences. Read more



Presidential Honors

Troy University (Ala.)
Jack Hawkins, Jr., chancellor of Troy University, was one of nine university chancellors worldwide and the only one in North America to receive the World Confucius Institute’s Individual Performance Excellence Award during the World Confucius Institute Conference in Xiamen, China. He received the award from Liu Yandong, Vice Premier of the State Council of the People’s Republic of China on behalf of the CI headquarters in Beijing. Read more



Awards and Honors

California State University, Monterey Bay
Maria Villaseñor, associate professor and coordinator of the First-Year Seminar program, has received an "Outstanding First-Year Advocate Award" from the National Resource Center for the First-Year Experience at the University of South Carolina. The award recognizes faculty members, administrators and staff for their outstanding work on behalf of first-year students and for the impact their efforts have on the students and culture of their institutions. Read more

University of Central Oklahoma
Xiaobing Li, Ph.D., professor of history at the University of Central Oklahoma, was recently elected as president of Chinese Historians in the United States (CHUS), an affiliated society of the American Historical Association and the Association of Asian Studies. Read more




Georgia College
Two Georgia College undergraduate physics majors spent countless hours during the last few months capturing photos of the heavens through the Pohl Observatory’s high-powered telescope. Thanks to their analysis, the observatory is now accredited by the International Astronomical Union’s Minor Planet Center (MPC). Read more

Millersville University of Pennsylvania
Millersville University student Nicholas Heil won an Outstanding Presentation Award in the Mathematical Association of America (MAA) Undergraduate Poster Session at the 2015 Joint Mathematics Meetings (JMM) held in San Antonio, Texas. Read more

St. Cloud State University (Minn.)
Chad Robinson, a 2014 magna cum laude accounting graduate of St. Cloud State University, is the collegian of the year for the national professional business fraternity, Delta Sigma Pi. Robinson was chosen from about 12,000 collegiate members at 285 campus chapters. Since 1971, the Collegian of the Year award has honored contributions, achievements, participation and personal character of the fraternity's most outstanding collegiate member. This is the first Delta Sigma Pi has recognized its St. Cloud State chapter with a national award. In 2010, Theta Tau earned a pair of regional awards for alumni relations and chapter improvement. Read more

Stockton University (N.J.)
The Board of Trustees voted to change Stockton’s official designation and name from that of a college to a university. Stockton has been known at various times as Richard Stockton State College, Stockton State, and most recently, The Richard Stockton College of New Jersey. Read more

West Texas A&M University
A West Texas A&M University alumnus with a passion for film making has given a group of WTAMU students an opportunity of a lifetime with the beta testing of a product that could revolutionize the world of video production. Read more