• MLI Founders

    AASCU commends and honors MLI Founders who conceived the vision of MLI, designed the program, and moved it from concept to reality from the first momentous meeting on July 18, 1998.

    Millennium Leadership Initiative (MLI) prepares the next generation of leaders in higher education by advancing persons who are traditionally underrepresented as presidents and chancellors.

    1. President David G. Carter, Eastern Connecticut State University (Deceased)
    2. President Hazo W. Carter Jr., West Virginia State University (Deceased)
    3. President Marvalene Hughes, California State University, Stanislaus
    4. Chancellor Emeritus Edward B. Fort, North Carolina A&T University
    5. Former President David B. Henson, Lincoln University (deceased)
    6. Chancellor Emerita Gladys Styles Johnston, University of Nebraska at Kearney (Deceased)
    7. Chancellor Charlie Nelms, University of Michigan - Flint
    8. Former President Wendell Rayburn, Lincoln University (AASCU Staff Liaison) (Deceased)
    9. Former Chancellor James C. Renick, University of Michigan - Dearborn
    10. Chancellor Emeritus F.C. Richardson, Indiana University Southeast

    Institution membership/participation at time of MLI founding



    • Karusha Naidoo
      Program Manager, Millennium Leadership Initiative
      (202) 478-4655

    • News

      A. Zachary Faison, Jr. (Class of 2017) has been selected as president of Edward Waters College (Florida)

      Karrie G. Dixon (Class of 2013) has been selected as Interim Chancellor of Elizabeth City State University (NC)

      Jerald Woolfolk Adley (Class of 2013) has been selected as President of Lincoln University (Mo)

      Ronald Rochon (Class of 2009) has been selected as President of University of Southern Indiana

      Complete list of MLI Graduates' Career Advancements (pdf)

    • Photo Gallery
    • List of MLI Members