News Release from AASCU


Contact: Jennifer Walpole (202) 478-4665


Washington, D.C.—Today the American Association of State Colleges & Universities (AASCU) announced the 25 candidates selected to participate in the inaugural class of AASCU’s Emerging Leaders Program (ELP). This three-day seminar, to be held June 11-14, 2016 in Washington, D.C., is designed for promising mid-career professionals and faculty leaders in higher education.

“We need a robust pipeline of talented professionals interested in advancing their careers in higher education,” said AASCU President Muriel A. Howard. “AASCU has a long history of providing successful leadership development programs at every professional level of higher education administration. We identified a void at the mid-career level, and we believe our new Emerging Leaders Program will be an important complement in service to our members and others interested in advancing their careers.”

In addition to strengthening and enhancing leadership skills, participants in the Emerging Leaders Program will have the opportunity to engage in a national dialogue with experienced leaders and experts in higher education and to develop a network of colleagues from across the country. The program includes opportunities for hands-on practical exercises, a leadership self-assessment, and the development of a plan designed to help participants achieve their leadership goals.

Participants were nominated for the Emerging Leaders Program by presidents, chancellors and cabinet-level administrators; each participant must have demonstrated to campus leaders the potential for advancement at their campus or another institution. Upon completion of the program, nominators will identify a project, initiative or assignment that will expand the participant’s knowledge of the university and facilitate his or her growth as leader by using the skills learned during the program.


Jeff Adams, Millersville University of Pennsylvania
Maureen Andrade, Utah Valley University
Barbara Andrew, William Paterson University of New Jersey
Erica Bowers, California State University Fullerton
Katrina Coakley, Univ. of North Texas at Dallas
Toya Corbett, North Carolina Central University
Wallace Dixon, East Tennessee State University
Helmut Doll, Bloomsburg University
Krishna Foster, California State University, Los Angeles
Tony Gaskew, University of Pittsburgh-Bradford
Peggy James, University of Wisconsin-Parkside
Leah Kraus, North Carolina Central University
Jeffrey Leak, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Jonathan Lindzey, Lock Haven University
Lisa Lloyd, Texas State University
Stacy Mallicoat, California State University, Fullerton
Samantha McAuliffe-Raynor, UNC General Administration
Maria McMath, Adams State University
Joelle Neulander, The Citadel
Lynette Reitz, Lock Haven University
Sarah Shin, University of Maryland Baltimore County
Earl Simons, York College of the City University of New York
Heather Van Mullem, Lewis-Clark State College
Paola Veras, CUNY York College
Amitra Wall, SUNY Buffalo State


The American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) is a Washington, D.C.-based higher education association of more than 400 public colleges, universities, and systems whose members share a learning- and teaching-centered culture, a historic commitment to underserved student populations, and a dedication to research and creativity that advances their regions’ economic progress and cultural development.