News Release from AASCU


Contact: Jennifer Walpole (202) 478-4665


Washington, D.C.—The American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) has named Dr. Doris Taylor, director of regenerative medicine research at the Texas Heart Institute, the 2016 recipient of AASCU’s Distinguished Alumnus Award. Taylor, a 1977 graduate of Mississippi University for Women, is internationally regarded for her expertise in stem cell therapy and cardiac repair.

Recognized for her breakthrough research related to cell therapy, stem cell biology and tissue engineering-based therapies, Taylor holds numerous invention disclosures, patent applications and patents. Over the course of her career, Taylor has earned more than $12.5 million in federal, private and nonprofit research awards, including awards from the NIH National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute; the American Heart Association; and NIH NHLBI Cardiovascular Cell Therapy Clinical Research Network, among others. She is the chair of the Tissue Engineering Council, International Society for Heart and Lung Transplantation, and is a member of numerous scientific and professional organizations. Taylor, an educator with more than 25 years of teaching experience, has also published extensively, authoring or co-authoring more than 80 scientific publications.

“Dr. Taylor is an outstanding example of the value of a liberal arts education,” said Dr. Jim Borsig, president of Mississippi University for Women. “Her biology undergraduate degree has led her into a lifetime of research that has the potential to transform treatments for end-stage heart disease. We are inspired by her accomplishments, and appreciate that she credits many of her W faculty members for setting her on this path of groundbreaking research, as well as the example of her mother and aunts who were also graduates. We are so proud that she is the recipient of this year’s Distinguished Alumnus Award.”

For more than four decades, AASCU’s Distinguished Alumnus Award has been presented to an individual who has achieved acclaim in her or his field and who has made a significant contribution to the public, intellectual or cultural life of the nation. Through this award, AASCU directs national attention to the value of society's investment in America's state colleges and universities. Taylor will be presented with this award during AASCU’s 2016 Annual Meeting in Miami, Fla. on November 1; she joins a long list of past honorees, including President Lyndon Johnson, who was the first to receive the award in 1972. 


The American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) is a Washington, D.C.-based higher education association of more than 400 public colleges, universities, and systems whose members share a learning- and teaching-centered culture, a historic commitment to underserved student populations, and a dedication to research and creativity that advances their regions’ economic progress and cultural development. These are institutions Delivering America’s Promise of Opportunities for All.