News Release from AASCU


Contact: Jennifer Walpole (202) 478.4665


NEW ORLEANS, LA.—Mary Evans Sias, president of Kentucky State University, will assume the chair of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities’ (AASCU) Board of Directors during the association’s Annual Meeting Tuesday, October 30, 2012.

Sias has been president of Kentucky State since 2004; she previously served as associate provost and senior vice president for student affairs and external relations at the University of Texas at Dallas, from 1994 to 2004. Sias has served on AASCU’s Committee on Professional Development, as a faculty member of the Millennium Leadership Initiative (MLI) Institute, on the MLI Steering Committee, and as a member of AASCU’s Council of State Representatives.

The following presidents and chancellors will serve on the AASCU Board of Directors in 2013 (Note: Names with asterisks represent new board members):

2013 Chair-Elect (to serve as chair in 2014):
Tomás Morales, president, California State University, San Bernardino

Past Chair:
Mickey L. Burnim, president, Bowie State University (Md.)

Deborah F. Stanley, president, State University of New York College at Oswego

F. King Alexander, president, California State University, Long Beach
John C. Cavanaugh, chancellor, Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education
F. Javier Cevallos, president, Kutztown University of Pennsylvania*
Susan A. Cole, president, Montclair State University (N.J.)
Mary Cullinan, president, Southern Oregon University*
Richard Davenport, president, Minnesota State University, Mankato
David L. Eisler, president, Ferris State University*
Jerry B. Farley, president, Washburn University (Kan.)
Dana L. Gibson, president, Sam Houston State University (Texas)*
Elaine P. Maimon, president, Governors State University (Ill.)
J. Keith Motley, chancellor, University of Massachusetts Boston
Albert L. Walker, president, Harris-Stowe State University (Mo.)


AASCU is a Washington-based higher education association of more than 400 public colleges, universities and systems whose members share a learning- and teaching-centered culture, a historic commitment to underserved student populations and a dedication to research and creativity that advances their regions’ economic progress and cultural development.