News Release from AASCU


Contact: Jennifer Walpole, AASCU (202) 478-4665

Contact: Kristal Griffith, NASPA (202) 265-7500

Contact: Adrienne Lever, TurboVote (202) 321-5796


WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, in celebration of National Voter Registration Day, the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) and NASPA - Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education announced that 100 member institutions have adopted TurboVote, an innovative “one-stop-shop” voter engagement platform, thanks to a partnership between two higher education associations and the nonpartisan nonprofit technology organization, Democracy Works.

A product of Democracy Works, TurboVote makes it easy for students to register to vote, request an absentee ballot, and sign up for text and email reminders with important election information, dates and deadlines.

With TurboVote, AASCU and NASPA member institutions are taking steps to institutionalize voter engagement by integrating the technology into established processes such as freshman orientation and class registration. By embedding the platform into critical student interactions, they ensure that every student will have the materials and information he or she needs to vote in every election.

“The University of Central Oklahoma’s partnership with TurboVote is an amazing opportunity to enhance the civic engagement of our students, faculty and staff,” said Janelle Grellner, Ph.D., professor of psychology and director of Central’s American Democracy Project. “Changing registration rates, voter knowledge and voting behavior is something we can start here on our campus as we strive to graduate competent, confident and civically-minded citizens. TurboVote will supercharge our efforts.”

When students sign up with TurboVote, the system keeps track of all their elections—local, state and national. If students wish to register, update their addresses or request absentee ballots, TurboVote sends them the necessary forms and information with pre-addressed, pre-stamped envelopes, and then sends reminders to ensure that users never miss another election.

“NASPA members have a unique opportunity to promote democratic engagement across the many channels of the co-curriculum,” says NASPA President Kevin Kruger. “We are excited to add TurboVote to the tools used to educate students for citizenship both inside and outside the classroom.”

TurboVote’s platform helps colleges and universities meet federal mandates that require institutions provide students with voter registration information. With help from AASCU and NASPA, TurboVote hopes to support institutions in meeting these mandates and set a new standard for voter engagement in higher education.

George Mehaffy, AASCU's vice president for academic leadership and change, notes, “This partnership sends an important message to institutional leaders that democratic engagement should be a part of every student’s college education."

Institutions in the NASPA/AASCU TurboVote cohort (click here to view a map of all TurboVote partner institutions):

Alcorn State University
Alfred State University
Alfred University
Alvernia University
Arizona State University
Barry University
Bloomsburg University
Boston College
Boston University
Brown University
Cal Poly - San Luis Obispo
California State University, Los Angeles
Chapman University
Chatham University
Clarkson University
Clayton State University
Cleveland State University
Community College of Allegheny County
Creighton University
Davis and Elkins College
Depaul University
Drexel University
Elmhurst College
Ferris State University
Florida A&M University
Florida International University
Florida State College at Jacksonville
Florida State University
Friends University
Frostburg State
Georgetown University
Georgia Gwinnett College
Governor's State University
Harper College
Howard University
Illinois State University
Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis
Ivy Tech Community College
Keene State College
Kennesaw State University
Lane Community College
Louisiana State University
Marlboro College
Millersville University
Missouri State University
Montclair State University
Mount Ida College
New York University
North Central College
Northeastern Illinois University

Northeastern State University
Northeastern University
Northwest Missouri State University
Occidental College
Palm Beach Atlantic University
Peru State College
Ramapo College of New Jersey
Ringling College of Art and Design
Salisbury University
Salt Lake Community College
Sam Houston State University
San Francisco State University
School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Seton Hall University
Sewanee: The University of the South
Southern New Hampshire University
Stanford University
SUNY Cortland
SUNY Geneseo
Texas A&M University-Central Texas
The College at Brockport (SUNY)
The Ohio State University
Trinity University
University of California, Irvine
University of Central Oklahoma
University of Delaware
University of Florida
University of Idaho
University of Missouri Kansas City
University of Nebraska - Lincoln
University of Nebraska at Kearney
University of Nebraska at Omaha
University of Northern Iowa
University of Saint Joseph
University of Texas at Arlington
University of Texas at Austin
University of Texas at El Paso
University of Texas at San Antonio
University of Texas at the Permian Basin
University of Texas Health Sciences Center San Antonio
University of Texas Northeast Health Center
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Warren Wilson College
Weber State University
Wellesley College
Wesleyan University
West Chester University of Pennsylvania
Western Illinois University
Wheaton College
Wheelock College


AASCU is a Washington-based higher education association of more than 400 public colleges, universities and systems whose members share a learning- and teaching-centered culture, a historic commitment to underserved student populations and a dedication to research and creativity that advances their regions’ economic progress and cultural development.

NASPA is the leading association for the advancement, health, and sustainability of the student affairs profession. Our work provides high-quality professional development, advocacy, and research for 14,000 members in all 50 states, 25 countries, and 8 U.S. territories.

TurboVote is a project of Democracy Works, a nonpartisan 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization based in Brooklyn, N.Y., that is passionate about building the democracy of the future. TurboVote is a service that makes voting easy. When students sign up, TurboVote keeps track of all their elections—local, state and national. If students wish to register, update their addresses or request absentee ballots, TurboVote sends them all the forms and information they need with pre-addressed, pre-stamped envelopes. For every election, TurboVote sends text message and email reminders to all users with important election information, dates and deadlines, to ensure that they never miss another election.