News Release from AASCU


Contact: Jennifer Walpole (202) 478-4665


WASHINGTON, D.C.—Michael Marletta, Ph.D., former president and CEO of The Scripps Research Institute and current Cecil H. and Ida M. Green Professor of Chemistry, will be honored by the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) as their 2014 Distinguished Alumnus Award recipient.  The award will be presented during the association’s Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. on Tuesday, October 21.

The Distinguished Alumnus Award is presented to an individual who is an alumnus of a college or university that is a member of AASCU, who has achieved acclaim in his or her field, and who has made a significant contribution to the public, intellectual or cultural life of the nation. Marletta is a 1973 graduate of the State University of New York at Fredonia.

Marletta, a renowned biochemist, formerly served as chair of UC Berkeley’s Department of Chemistry, as co-director of the Chemical Biology Graduate Program, as Aldo DeBenedictis Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, and as professor of biochemistry in the Department of Molecular and Cell Biology.  Prior to that he was the John G. Searle Professor of Medicinal Chemistry in the College of Pharmacy and professor of biological chemistry at the University of Michigan.

A 1995 recipient of the prestigious MacArthur Fellowship, as well as many other awards and honors, Marletta has focused his research on the intersection of chemistry and biology—an intersection he explored in his undergraduate study at SUNY Fredonia. He is an acknowledged pioneer in discovering the role of nitric oxide, a critical player in communication between cells.

The Distinguished Alumnus Award has been bestowed by AASCU for more than 40 years. The first recipient of the award was President Lyndon Johnson. 


AASCU is a Washington-based higher education association of more than 400 public colleges, universities and systems whose members share a learning- and teaching-centered culture, a historic commitment to underserved student populations and a dedication to research and creativity that advances their regions’ economic progress and cultural development.