News Release from AASCU


Contact: Jennifer Walpole (202) 478-4665


WASHINGTON, D.C.— J. Keith Motley, chancellor of the University of Massachusetts Boston, will assume the chair of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities’ (AASCU) Board of Directors during the association’s Annual Meeting Tuesday, October 21, 2014.

Motley is the eighth chancellor of the University of Massachusetts Boston, where he has served since his appointment in 2007. He previously served as vice president for business, marketing and public affairs at the University of Massachusetts President’s office, and also as interim chancellor and vice chancellor for student affairs at UMass Boston. In addition to serving on the AASCU Board of Directors, Motley served AASCU as chair of the Council of State Representatives, on the Committee on International Education, on AASCU’s Task Force on College Readiness, and as a member of the Millennium Leadership Initiative Steering Committee.

The following presidents and chancellors will serve on the AASCU Board of Directors in 2015:

2015 Chair-Elect (to serveas chair in 2016):
Stephen M. Jordan
, president, Metropolitan State University of Denver

Past Chair: 
Tomás D. Morales
, president, California State University, San Bernardino

Deborah F. Stanley
, president, State University of New York at Oswego

Linda M. Bleicken
, president, Armstrong State University (Ga.)
F. Javier Cevallos
, president, Framingham State University (Mass.)
Mary Cullinan
, president, Eastern Washington University
Philip L. Dubois
, chancellor, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
David L. Eisler
, president, Ferris State University (Mich.)
Mildred García, president, California State University, Fullerton
Sue Henderson,
president, New Jersey City University
Virginia Schaefer Horvath
, president, State University of New York at Fredonia
Dana G. Hoyt, president, Sam Houston State University (Texas)
GlenD. Johnson
, chancellor, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education (System Head)
Keith T. Miller
, president, Virginia State University
Troy D. Paino
, president, Truman State University (Mo.)  
William Ruud
, president, University of Northern Iowa
Dennis J. Shields
, chancellor, University of Wisconsin-Platteville
David L. Soltz
, president, Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania


AASCU is a Washington-based higher education association of more than 400 public colleges, universities and systems whose members share a learning- and teaching-centered culture, a historic commitment to underserved student populations and a dedication to research and creativity that advances their regions’ economic progress and cultural development.