Council of State Representatives

The work of AASCU's Division of Government Relations and Policy Analysis is greatly informed by the Association's Council of State Representatives , which includes representation from all 50 states and U.S. territories. The Council is comprised of college and university presidents and chancellors, system heads, and state coordinating board executives. The Council advises staff on higher education public policy issues, helps formulate the Association's annual Public Policy Agenda, and assists the staff in carrying out the agenda's legislative priorities through contacts with stakeholders and members, including the Federal government and members of Congress.

For information on the Council and its mid-year meeting, contact Emily Parker at (202) 478-4659 or email her at

Council of State Representatives

Chair, F. Javier Vevallos, Framingham State University (MA)

Vice Chair, Eduardo M. Ochoa, California State University Monterey Bay (CA)

F. King Alexander, Louisiana State University (LA)

Jonathan R. Alger, James Madison University (VA)

Virginia Arthur, Metropolitan State University, (MN)

Barbara Berreski, New Jersey Associationf of State Colleges and Universities (NJ)

Joseph Bertolino, Southern Connecticut State University (CT)

James Borsig, Mississippi University for Women (MS)

Daniel Bradley, Indiana State University (IN)

Robert L. Caret, University System of Maryland (MD)

Richard A. Caulfield, University of Alaska Southeast (AK)

Brenda Dann-Messier, Rhode Island Office of the Postsecondary Commissioner (RI)

Robert O. Davies, Murray State University (KY)

Steve M. Dorman, Georgia College and State University (GA) 

David L. Eisler, Ferris State University (MI)

Jerry B. Farley, Washburn University (KS)

James Gaudino, Central Washington University (WA)

Joe Gow, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse (WI)

David Hall, University of the Virgin Islands (VI)

Brian O. Hemphill, Radford University (VA)

Daniel J. Hurley, Michigan Association of State Universities (MI) 

John Jasinski, Northwest Missouri State University (MO)

Glen D. Johnson, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education (OK)

Glendell Jones, Jr, Henderson State University (AR)

Marcia V. Keizs, City University of New York (NY)

Eileen Klein, Arizona Board of Regents (AZ)

Susan J. Koch, University of Illinois at Springfield, (IL)

William N. LaForge, Delta State University (MS)

Todd J. Leach, University System of New Hampshire (NH)

Ronald Mason, Jr., University of the District of Columbia (DC)

Robert S. Nelsen, California State University Sacramento (CA)

Brian Noland, East Tennessee State University (TN) 

Mark Nook, University of Northern Iowa (IA)

Bart J. Patterson, Nevada State College (NV)

Vincent Pedone, State Universities of Massachusetts Council of Presidents (MA) 

Linda K. Schott, Southern Oregon University (OR)

Renee Wachter, University of Wisconsin-Superior (WI)

Beth Weatherby, University of Montana-Western (MT)

Marcia W. Welsh, East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania (PA)

Alisa R. White, Austin Peay State University (TN)

Charles A. Wight, Weber State University (UT)