July 10, 2024

AASCU Honors Eight Member Institutions with 2024 Excellence & Innovation Awards 

Kellee Edmonds
(202) 478-4662

WASHINGTON, July 10, 2024 – The American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) congratulates eight member institutions chosen to receive the 2024 AASCU Excellence & Innovation (E&I) Awards. These winners have implemented model programs and initiatives on their campuses in the areas of teacher education; diversity, equity, and inclusion leadership; international education; leadership development and diversity; Stewards of Place; student success and college completion; sustainability and sustainable development; and civic learning and community engagement.

The following are this year’s E&I Awards recipients:

  • Student Success and College Completion Award:
    Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo, CA– Cal Poly Scholars
  • We the People Award: Excellence in Civic Learning and Community Engagement:
    California State University, Los Angeles – Prison Graduation Initiative

AASCU’s E&I Awards provide winning state colleges and universities with the unique opportunity to share their encouraging success stories during the AASCU 2024 Annual Conference in Puerto Rico this November.

“We proudly congratulate the winners of this year’s E&I Awards for their exemplary and inspiring contributions to higher education,” said Charles L. Welch, AASCU’s president and CEO. “These members created outstanding programs and initiatives that have yielded results other institutions can aspire to achieve, while centering equity and student success in diverse communities. AASCU celebrates the ingenuity, hard work, and dedication of these exceptional state colleges and universities.”

E&I Award recipients receive an engraved sculpture or a monetary contribution to a chosen campus initiative, such as an on-campus food pantry or scholarship fund.


The American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) is a Washington, D.C.-based higher education association of 350 public colleges, universities, and systems whose members share a learning- and teaching-centered culture, a historic commitment to underserved student populations, and a dedication to research and creativity that advances their regions’ economic progress and cultural development.