• The Barbara Burch Award for
    Faculty Leadership in Civic Engagement

     The Burch Award is given in recognition of exemplary faculty leadership in advancing the civic learning and engagement of undergraduate students and the work of AASCU’s American Democracy Project on campus and/or nationally. The Burch Award is presented annually at CLDE to a tenured or contingent faculty member with more than five years of teaching experience on an AASCU campus who has demonstrated leadership in advancing the civic learning and engagement of undergraduates.

    The award recipient will receive a commemorative to acknowledge the national recognition. 

      Barbara Burch

      About the Award

      The Burch Award was established in 2014 by AASCU’s American Democracy Project in honor of Barbara Burch, Provost Emerita at Western Kentucky University, who provided extraordinary national leadership in the design, creation and ongoing development of the American Democracy Project.   

      During her time as Provost, Barbara Burch strongly supported faculty in the development of civic programming at Western Kentucky University. She actively sought out talented faculty members to offer positions of leadership and program development. She provided substantial financial support for professional development. She offered the prestige of her office and her own personal commitment to support faculty interested in civic work. Her efforts resulted in the development of a strong cadre of faculty at Western deeply committed to civic engagement and civic outcomes. As a result of her support for faculty, Western Kentucky University, during her time as provost, was seen as one of the leading universities in the country in civic engagement.            

      Past Recipients

      • 2022: Sandy Pope, Salisbury University (MD)
      • 2021: Judithanne Scourfield McLauchlan, University of South Florida, St. Petersburg
      • 2019: Elizabeth Bennion, Indiana University South Bend
      • 2018: Lance Lippert, Illinois State University
      • 2017: Shala A. Mills, Chair and Professor of Political Science, Fort Hays State University (KS)
      • 2016: Elizabeth Bennion, Professor of Political Science and ADP Campus Director, Indiana University South Bend
      • 2016: Molly Kerby, Associate Professor of Diversity and Community Studies, Western Kentucky University
      • 2015: Patrick Dolenc, Professor of Economics, Keene State University (NH)
      • 2014: Gregg Kaufman, Instructor and ADP Campus Coordinator, Georgia College