• The William M. Plater Award
    for Leadership In Civic Engagement

    The Plater Award is given in recognition of exemplary leadership of an AASCU chief academic officer in advancing the civic learning of undergraduates through programs and activities that encourage greater knowledge, skills, experiences, and reflection about the role of citizens in a democracy.

    The award recipient will receive an engraved commemorative to acknowledge the national recognition. At the awardee’s discretion, the award can also be presented at a suitable occasion on the recipient’s campus, ordinarily in the fall semester following selection. 

    About the Award

    The Plater Award was established in 2006 by AASCU in collaboration with Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) in appreciation for the leadership of William M. Plater, who served as the chief academic officer of IUPUI from 1987 through 2006. IUPUI generously agreed to endow the Plater Award for 15 years.

    During his term, Bill Plater oversaw the development of civic engagement as an integral part of the campus mission and as a defining characteristic of its graduates, thus helping IUPUI win recognition among peers as a national leader. Through his writing, speaking and public advocacy, Plater also helped extend universities’ understanding of their collective responsibility as “Stewards of Place,” while connecting them with the larger regional, national and global communities of which they are also a part.

    Past Recipients

    • 2022: Kathy Johnson, Indiana University-Purdue University at Indianapolis
    • 2021: Mark Canada, Indiana University Kokomo
    • 2019: Richard Eglsaer, Sam Houston State University (Texas)
    • 2018: Vicki Golich, Metropolitan State University of Denver, Colorado
    • 2017: Philip Rous, Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)
    • 2016: Joan Lorden, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, University of North Carolina Charlotte
    • 2015: Michael Vaughan, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Weber State University (Utah)
    • 2014: Harold Hellenbrand, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, California State University, Northridge
    • 2013: William A. Covino, Provost, California State University Fresno
    • 2012: Emile "Mel" Netzhammer, Provost, Keene State College (N.H.)
    • 2011: Vincent Magnuson, Vice Chancellor for Academic Administration, University of Minnesota, Duluth
    • 2010: Gail Wells, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Northern Kentucky University
    • 2009: David L. Carr, Provost and Executive Vice President, Richard Stockton College of New Jersey
    • 2008: Lawrence V. Gould, Provost and Chief Academic Officer, Fort Hays State University (Kan.)
    • 2007: Barbara G. Burch, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Western Kentucky University
    • 2006: William M. Plater, Executive Vice Chancellor and Dean of the Faculties, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis